Construction update

I’ve been working on the basic framing for some time, and now the skeleton is basically done. This includes the wheeled base, the main structure of 2×4’s and 2×2’s, and the door. The CS-1 has a few options for basic construction; I went with a closed-in back and a single door on the pilot’s side. I also built it in two halves, so that it will be much easier to move if I ever have to transport this thing in the future. I should point out I am by no means skilled in carpentry, and had to figure things out and learn new techniques as I went.

Looking back, the construction so far has been fairly straightforward. It would have much more of a pain without the miter saw that I bought at a yard sale: it made cutting the plywood a breeze, including the few bevel cuts that were needed. There were not too many plywood cuts, so for now I’ve been using a makeshift frame created on the floor from unused 2×4’s, and a handheld rotary saw.  I also had my Dad around to help for first part of it, and it was good to have a second opinion (and an extra pair of hands) at times.

Assessing the work ahead with my Dad
Assessing the work ahead with my Dad

It’s interesting that there is pretty much not one single exact measurement in the CS-1 plans; everything seems to be in fractions of an inch. I’m not a draftsman so I just followed the plans exactly, or as best I could anyway. The plans also incorporate angle cuts, because the roof is slightly sloped and the bottom of the door is slightly angled (5 degrees) — at first this seemed to serve no purpose but to make my life miserable, but when it was all done, I appreciate the overall effect — it looks way less boxy that if all corners were 90 degrees.

We built each half in turn, cutting as we went. All the 2×4’s were joined using screws and “L” brackets, as the plans suggest, with glue used only in a few spots here and there.

20150525_142345
Framing complete

Attaching the door was fun, since I had to do that single-handed. At first it seemed oddly over-engineered (way too heavy for a door), but once it was done and attached, I’m glad I didn’t change anything. The best way to attach it was by screwing the hinges to the door first, then lying the whole thing down on it’s side, and screwing the hinges into the frame.

Once attached, I added a spring to the door, so that it closes by itself, and a small “plate” where a lock or handle might be, so that it has something to hit against when it swings shut.

Once the door was in place, I filled, sanded, and painted the whole thing. Following the suggestions in the construction manual I used a mixture of gloss black and aluminum oil-based paint. I only mixed up a quart at a time (one quart black and 4oz aluminum) and overall it took about three quarts of two coats to finish it. Then I painted the floor just for good measure, although eventually will cover it with some kind of carpeting.

20150620_083756

Notice the large number of wheels – this is because it is built in two halves. If needed I can unbolt the front from the back, although I don’t anticipate needed to do that. I’m not 100% happy with my choice of wheels; I think I might change them for some that are larger, but I can do that another day.

I’m on master carpenter, as I pointed out, but I think the frame came out OK. It’s perhaps not “show room quality” but it’s perfectly fine for my garage!

With the framing done, I can now start thinking about building the bonnet for the monitors, and the instrument panel. These two sections seem to interlock and have to fit together nicely, so I’ll probably work on getting the basic cuts and layout done first, and then focus on the panel.

Lessons Learned

Some things I learned building this framework:

  1. Take your time picking the lumber! With such exact measurements and fits, bends and warps really make a difference. Sometimes I searched through all the 2×4’s at Home Depot and walked away with only one or two.
  2. Use the right tools. I have more tools now than at the start of the project, but without them, things would  have been much harder. In particular, the miter saw was invaluable.
  3. Buy new blades on day one! And get good ones. My first few cuts were terrible; after installing new blades, it was way better.
  4. Treat each piece as unique, and measure each one separately. Small variations add up, so if you cut a piece for the front left upright, for example, label it as such, and don’t use it elsewhere. Of course, this could just be due to my poor wood working skills…
  5. Take your time with the paint. Sand, sand and sand. I also found two coats was essential – looking back I perhaps could have used primer first but in the end in came out looking OK.

Leave a comment